October

“October is the perfect month.  It’s my favorite month.” – Don Oddi

It’s been a while since I posted an update, so I thought I share a few things with everyone.  Hope you are all well.

I can’t believe how fast the year is slipping by.  Seems like yesterday I was sitting in Hat Creek wondering where the next 365 days would take me.  Three quarters of the year is now over and I’m in shock.

October is one of my favorite months, due in no small part to the advent of Halloween.  Aside from my child-like enthusiasm for that particular night, and my penchant desire for pumpkin flavored anything, there are a lot of exciting things in store for this month.

October is California Archaeology Month; an entire thirty-one days dedicated to celebrating the field of archaeology, Native American and California history.  Sponsored by the SCA, the Society for California Archaeology, California Archaeology Month seeks to integrate archaeology and history with California’s kindergarten through Grade 12 curriculum to raise awareness and entice young minds.  I’ll be tweaking Sexy Archaeology slightly during this time to focus more on stories and news from California, I’d really appreciate it if you’d take the time to check it out, even make it a part of your daily routine.

Things are well with the job.  I love being a part of the Forest Service.  The archaeology of southern Lassen National Forest is smashing!  Our field work is wrapping up for the most part, so it’s boiling down to site reports and ARRs for the remainder of the season.  It hasn’t made the job any less interesting.  I’ve tried my best to keep a photolog of all the work the crew has done which you can find on my Flickr page, there is a link in the sidebar.

I’m back to New York for a week around the 14th for the wedding of two of my closest friends.  It’s going to be a great event and I’m excited to see everyone from my hometown.

It dawned on me the other day that this is the first year since 2005 that I haven’t traveled across the Atlantic.  While a part of my heart breaks at the thought of it, I’ve made a solid effort to explore what California has to offer.  Erin and I have done our best to explore as much of the west coast as we can during these past six months.  Baring Covelo, we’ve found some gnarly places and met a lot of great people along the way.  Without a doubt it’s the people we’ve met this summer that have made our experience all the better.

Looking towards the future, I’m beginning to brainstorm ideas for National Novel Writing Month, which begins November 1st.  It’s been a few years since I was able to hit my 50,000 word goal.  With my duty in Lake Almanor wrapping up that same month, I’m hoping to make a solid effort.  Still no idea what I’m going to do for a story, but that’s part of the excitement for October.  I’m going to let me creative consciousness out of its cage and “go-ahead-go-nuts-go-apeshi*”

I’ll be heading back to New York for December.  I despise NY in the winter, but it’s been two years since I’ve spent that time with my family, so it’ll be a nice change.  I’m already begin to structure my workload for the month.  I’ve got a handful of research projects in various forms of completion.  Sexy Archaeology is due for a proper overhaul.  My history based podcast The History of Jefferson County has two scripts on the verge of completion.  If I can finish a third, I’d like to begin recording them.  Depending on the response, it’s something I could continue in the future.  Few people in my hometown understand the history of Jefferson County.  It’s a place with a deeply interesting past, it’s just a matter of putting the information out there.  I’m also working on a community based archaeology project, but can’t really go into too much detail here.  Feel free to ask me if you see me around though.

That’s about all I have time for now.  Again, hope everyone is well.  Drop me an email and say hello: sexyarchaeology (at) gmail (dot) com.  Till next time…

Leave a Reply

