NaNoWriMo: Part Deux

Once again I find myself on the cusp of October, ready to tumble headlong into another chilly November.  It’s no reason to worry though because November is National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo)!  NaNoWriMo is a global challenge to people who enjoy writing.  The goal is to write a 175-page (50,000-word) novel by midnight, November 30.  It is not an easy task, but it is one of the most enjoyable things I have ever done.  I can’t explain what it feels like to hold a self-written novel in your hand, but I can imagine it falls somewhere close to holding your first born.

Last year I wrote a sequel to a story I began writing in 1995.  This year I plan to continue that saga.  My obstacles are twice as formidable this year.  I’m now living in England and taking a total of 80 credits this term.  I’m determined though to give it my best go though.  I have the opportunity to utilize the inspirations of a fresh location, a conglomerate of new friends and 365 days of pent up ideas.  Already I can feel the verbage building up, begging to be let out.  Its a incredibly exciting feeling.

If you’ve never tried NaNoWriMo before, I suggest givinig it a go.  I know so many people who are incredibly talented, but can’t be bothered to pick up a pen or put fingers to keyboard.  Don’t be that guy/girl.  Don’t argue that you are too busy.  Have  a bit of confidence in yourself.  Strive for something and you just might be surprised.

I’ll keep a tally on this site and maybe even leave some clips.

Check out NaNoWriMo!

And be my NaNoWriMo Buddy!

Leave a Reply

