Photo of the Day – The Dying Lioness

British Museum, London, England
April 2005

Bored one night in 2001, I opened my art book and began searching for something to sketch. I stumbled across an Assyrian stone relief of a lioness who had been shot with arrows. I was amazed by the relief; the lioness fighting to stay up on her front paws, her body riddled with arrows, her hind legs dragging behind her. I spent about an hour copying the image then closed my sketch book and all but forgot about it. Four years later, deep in the heart of the British Museum I was shocked to discover the actual stone relief. I took this photo and placed it along with the drawing in my sketchbook.

One thought on “Photo of the Day – The Dying Lioness

Leave a Reply

