Meeting Matthew Good

Matthew Good performed at Stages in Kingston this past week as part of his “Nothing to Hide” Solo Acoustic tour.  This was my third time seeing Matt, catching him before in Ottawa in 2003 and in Kingston in 2005.  The show opened with a performance from Dala, a gorgeous acoustic female duo from Canada.  Out of all the performers that have opened for Matt at previous shows, these women were by far the best.

Matt took the stage soon after the girls finished up.  A plus with an acoustic shows is that setup time is cut largely in half.  I’ll admit I was weary about the show, thinking that without the band it wouldn’t be as good, but I was greatly mistaken.  Matt’s performance was unbelievable.  He interacted with the audience, carried a joke from 2005 when he admitted he’d thought Stages was a strip club and even dedicated the final song “True Love Will Find You In The End” to his EXPLETIVE DELETED ex-wife, Jenn.  The highlight for me was hearing Suburbia and Black Helicopter, two of my favorite songs.

After the show, Alex and I had the opportunity to meet Matt.  Talk about a surreal experience!  Matt has had a huge influence on my life for the past ten years, his music has helped me through countless problems, including, but not limited to relationships and writer’s block.  I remember exactly where I was whenever I heard a song for the first time.  In fact, the first time I heard “Born Losers” I was in Nairobi, it was 1AM in the middle of a torrential downpour and I was using a computer that was running on generator power.  See what i mean?  Anyway, Matt was very genuine, we shook hands, exchanged pleasantries, snappped a few pictures; I couldn’t believe I was standing next to Matt Good.  Much to our surprise he announced he’d be playing a US tour in March, with stops in Buffalo, Rochester and New York (as well as several other locations around the country).  The entire ride home, Alex and I were on cloud nine.  I kept repeating over and over, “I can’t believe we met Matt frickin’ Good!”

All together an amazing time.

Leave a Reply

