Review: Veronica Mars – 3×02 – My Big Fat Greek Rush Week

The CWVeronica is back for a second week with another fantastic episode written by Diane Ruggiero and directed by John Kretchmer.

The story:

A-Storyline – Veronica is hired by the school newspaper to investigate the rapes on campus, which forces here to go undercover at the Zeta Theta sorority.

B-Storyline – Logan and Wallace are put on opposite teams for a sociology project.

C-Storyline – Keith Mars escapes through the desert.

What I liked: The pantie dropper shot, Sheriff lamb – back in the game, the faux lesbian dance, seeing the creators finally putting Logan and Wallace together, Dick Casablancas fulfilling his destiny, Parker’s wig, the return of the Fitzpatrick’s, the clock trick, Rider Strong (who apparently has been frozen in carbonite since Boy Meets World ended), Veronica’s guilt, the sociology experiment bet, Mac’s scene with Parker, and an all together engaging story.

My favorite line of the night:

Logan: Yes, I like Pina Coladas.

What I didn’t like: Still not enough interaction between all of the character. No Weevil. Not enough Lamb. Also, I’m finding myself craving my “Big mystery”, despite the fact that Thomas said he was going to break them up this season into smaller arcs, I’m not ready to leave the Season 1 and 2 teat! I still need heaping gobs mystery!

Overall: Again, a great follow up to last week. I found myself thinking back to season 4 of Buffy, college episodes are always great: roommate relationships, sorority/fraternity bashing, seeing the people you meet around campus translated directly to the small screen. I must give props to the set designer, the set design is nice this year. This show always employs good uses of stained glass, especially reds, purples, and oranges (Mars office, classrooms)… it really makes the locations stand out. Wow, perhaps I’m being way to observant.

Anyway, I think the show is in the perfect position to grab new viewers. So far I’ve wrangled four new people into the show and they are loving it. Plus Nip/Tuck is a great chaser. I have this plan to sabotage all the campus televisions and set them to the CW next week. Nothing but channel 31. I’m anxious for tomorrows USA Today so I can read last weeks numbers.

This weeks episode gets a

4.25 out of 5

See you next week.

Veronica Mars airs on The CW Network Tuesday’s at 9PM EST.

Feel free to post your own thoughts and/or review below.

Leave a Reply

